HomeDestinationSustainable TourismTours & Travel contactAbout UsFAQ

 Quick Guide About Malaysia





 General Information           >>         Money and Currency         >>               Transportation             >>More



329,758 sq km (127,320 sq miles), Include Peninsula Malaysia and Sabah, and Sarawak of Borneo.



24,100,000 (2004).



Kuala Lumpur. Population: 1,495,000 (2003)


Time Zone

GMT + 8



Constitutional monarchy since 1963, gained independence from the British in 1957. Head of Head of Government: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi since 2003.



Bahasa Malaysia (Malay Language) is the national and official language, English are second language and widely spoken. Other languages such as Chinese (Cantonese and Hokkien), Tamil, Iban, kadazandusun are spoken by minorities.



Muslim (53%), Buddhist (19%) majorities and Hindus (6%). The remainder are Christian, Taoist, Confucianism and Animist.



220 volts AC, 50Hz. Square 3-pin plugs and bayonet-type light fittings are generally used.



Malaysia is situated in central South-East Asia, bordering on Thailand in the north, with Singapore and Indonesia to the south and the Philippines to the east. It is composed of Peninsular Malaysia and the states of Sabah and Sarawak on the north coast of the island of Borneo, 650-950km (404-600 miles) across the South China Sea.


Peninsular Malaysia is an area of forested mountain ranges running north-south, on either side of which are low-lying coastal plains. The coastline extends some 1900km (1200 miles). The west coast consists of mangrove swamps and mudflats which separate into bays and inlets. In the west, the plains have been cleared and cultivated, while the unsheltered east coast consists of tranquil beaches backed by dense jungle.


Two state in North Borneo which is Sabah and Sarawak. Sarawak and Labuan which is part of Federal Territory has alluvial and, in places, swampy coastal plains with rivers penetrating the jungle-covered hills and mountains of the interior. Sabah has a narrow coastal plain which gives way to mountains and jungle. Mount Tahan, at 2187m (7185ft), is highest peak in peninsula Malaysia, while Mount Kinabalu, at 4095m (13,432ft), is the highest peak in Malaysia and also stand highest peak in South-East Asia.


The major islands are Langkawi (a group of 99 islands), Penang and Pangkor off the west coast; and Tioman, Redang, Kapas, Gemok, Perhentian and Rawa off the east coast while Manukan, Gaya, Sulug, Pulau Tiga, Mamutik, Sapi, Turtle Island, Layang-layang, Sipadan and Mabul Island in Borneo which are excellent sea diving spots.


Country Overview

Malaysia is situated in central South-East Asia, bordering Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines.


Kuala Lumpur, Johor Bahru, Penang, Melacca and the Southwest are the most developed and densely populated regions of the country. This is also where the most important historical remains are to be found. Malaysia's capital city and main international gateway, Kuala Lumpur, was founded in the 1890s, and its architecture reflects a cosmopolitan mix of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European cultures. The city of Malacca is two hours by road from Kuala Lumpur. Founded in the early 15th century, Malacca remains predominantly a Chinese community, with reminders of periods under Portuguese, Dutch and British rule. Architectural remains include the Cheng Hoon Teng Temple in the centre of the city.














































>> More on Telecommunication








Image Gallery Link:

Sungai Chilling Waterfall Gua Batu Maloi Gua Kelawar 6 Mile Tunnel Lion Rock Tabur Hill Thaipusam Terengganu Beach 1 2 3 Tioman Island Sekayu Waterfall Bukit Keluang Kelantan Culture Tip of Borneo Bukit Kutu Khao Yai National Park 1  Angkor wat 1 2 Kuala Gula Birds Pictures 1 2





Condition of Use

contact us